Sexual Assault Program
FINANCIAL HELP FOR CRIME VICTIMS
The Minnesota Crime Victims Reparations Board helps victims and their families ease the financial burden they face as a result of a violent crime.
The Board provides financial assistance to reimburse victims for their out-of-pocket losses suffered as a direct result of the crime
What are the eligibility requirements?
The crime must have occurred in Minnesota, or in a foreign country without a compensation program.
The crime must have been reported to police within 30 days. (The 30-day
requirement is waived in cases of sexual assault or child abuse,
however, those crimes must still be reported to the police before the claim will
be considered for payment.)
Victims must also cooperate fully with the police during the investigation, and with
the county or city attorney if the case is prosecuted.
An application form must be submitted within three years of the crime. (An
exception is made in child abuse cases. In those cases, claims must
be filed within 3 years of the date the crime was reported to the police.)
The victim must not have committed a crime or contributed to the incident through their own misconduct.
All collateral sources must be used first, including health insurance, Medical Assistance, auto insurance, vacation/sick leave, short and long term disability, social security benefits, etc.
How does a victim apply for reparations?
Victims can request an application form by calling Hands of Hope Resource Center or the Reparations office. The application form is also available here. Hands of Hope Resource Center can also assist with completing the application form.
Completed application forms should be mailed or faxed to the Reparations office. Victims should apply as soon as possible. Medical treatment or court proceedings do not need to be completed prior to filing a reparations claim.
Who is eligible to apply?
What types of crimes are covered?
- A person who suffers a physical or emotional injury or death as a result of a crime.
- A person injured or killed trying to prevent a crime, apprehend a suspect, or help a police officer.
- A person who paid for services for the victim.
- A family member, dependent, or estate of the victim.
- A guardian, guardian ad litem, conservator or authorized agent of any of these persons.
- Domestic Abuse
- Sexual Assault
- Child Abuse (Physical and Sexual)
- Felony Hit and Run
- Driving under the Influence
- Criminal Vehicular Operation
Property crimes are not covered.
What benefits are available?
There are limits on most of the following benefits, and total benefits may not exceed $50,000 per victim.
- Medical expenses - hospital, doctor, ambulance, medication management, prescriptions, chiropractic care, prosthetic devices.
- Counseling expenses for victims and their family members.
- Funeral expenses - funeral services, cremation, burial, headstone, flowers, obituary, lodging and travel for family members to attend funeral.
- Lost wages due to a disabling physical or psychological injury.
- Loss of support to dependents (spouse/domestic partner and minor children) of a homicide victim.
- Child care and professional household services to replace services provided by the victim prior to the crime.
- Transportation costs, meals and lodging to return an abducted child.
- Crime scene clean-up.
Pain and suffering, and damaged or stolen money or property are not covered.